TIAW 2015

Washington, D.C.: October 22, 2015

Since their creation 10 years ago by The International Alliance of Women, their World of Difference 100 awards have recognized 600 women and men who have supported the economic empowerment of women in the following categories: entrepreneurship, corporate, non-profit, education, public service/government, young women leaders and champions.

Past award recipients include:

  1. Cherie Blair, Founder of the Cherie Blair Foundation
  2. Madame Penehupifo Pohamba, First Lady of the Republic of Namibia
  3. Viviane Reding, Luxembourg, Member of the European Parliament

Narmin K. Ismail, Founder and CEO of The Spark of Hope Foundation was one of 2015’s award recipients, pictured above with other Canadian award winners. Nominations were received from 54 different countries and provided a vivid look at the inspiring work that women and men around the world are doing to support the economic empowerment of women.

This year’s recipients covered a wide range of activities on six continents. The awards were an opportunity to recognize the vital work that they do, often with few resources and many obstacles.

Narmin said: “I am delighted at being honoured by TIAW for the Foundation’s rapid growth. But the real winners are the 38 young inspirational women that the Foundation has been able to help achieve their dream of getting a high quality university education. Every day, I am reminded of their determination, drive and tenacity to overcome great odds to becoming leaders within their families and communities.”

She adds: “They have already overcome so many obstacles on their transformational journey, and I am confident that they will overcome many more challenges in the years ahead. One day, I hope each of them will be a proud recipient of this award too, as they in turn empower other men and women!”